SOCIAL ENTREPRENEURSHIP

Social entrepreneurship is the work of social entrepreneurs. A social entrepreneur recognizes a social problem and uses entrepreneurial principles to organize, create and manage a venture to achieve social change (a social venture). While a bussiness entrepreneur  typically measures performance in profit and return, a social entrepreneur focuses on creating social capital. Thus, the main aim of social entrepreneurship is to further social and environmental goals. Social entrepreneurs are most commonly associated with the voluntary and not-for-profit sectors, but this need not preclude making a profit. Social entrepreneurship practised with a world view or international context is called international social entrepreneurship.

One well-known contemporary social entrepreneur is Muhamed Yunus, founder and manager of  Graemeen Bank and its growing family of social venture businesses, who was awarded a Nobel Peace Prize in 2006. The work of Yunus and Grameen echoes a theme among modern day social entrepreneurs that emphasizes the enormous synergies and benefits when business principles are unified with social ventures.In some countries – including Bangladesh and to a lesser extent, the USA – social entrepreneurs have filled the spaces left by a relatively small state. In other countries – particularly in Europe and South America – they have tended to work more closely with public organizations at both the national and local level.

Social entrepreneurship is going to be an important part in my life as I would like to change things when going to India in the third year of my degree. I would be improving the life of most needed people, that is going to be where I’ll focus my stay in India. Still, two years left but I would like to start step by step  modeling what I’ll be doing in there. My purpose will be to help people, the learning how to improve people’s life and the earning will be huge, it will feed me spiritually and give me happiness  “Live in the present, think in the future”. This is part of my learning contract taking into account a 2-3year view, will do my best to make it true.

“I’m encouraging young people to become social business entrepreneurs and contribute to the world, rather than just making money. Making money is no fun. Contributing to and changing the world is a lot more fun.”
-Muhammad Yunus

“The pessimist sees difficulty in every opportunity. The optimist sees the opportunity in every difficulty.”
-Winston Churchill

@assarasua

